Virginia residents who wish to operate a motorcycle must obtain a motorcycle classification on their driver’s license. … While you are learning to ride a motorcycle, you can obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit, which is valid for one year.
Do you need a motorcycle license in VA?
A motorcycle learner’s permit allows you to learn to operate a motorcycle. If you are under age 18, you must obtain and hold a Virginia motorcycle learner’s permit for at least nine months. If you are age 18 or older, you must obtain and hold a motorcycle learner’s permit for at least 30 days.
Is it illegal to ride a motorcycle without a helmet in Virginia?
Virginia law does indeed require motorcyclists to wear helmets. Section 46.2-910 of the state’s Motor Vehicle Code states that both riders and passengers must wear helmets at all times while riding on a bike.
Can motorcycles ride on the shoulder in Virginia?
It is not legal to operate your motorcycle or any other motor vehicle (emergency responders excluded) on the shoulder of the highway in Virginia. … The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle on the right only under conditions permitting such movement in safety.
Do motorcycles need inspection in VA?
The State of Virginia requires annual motorcycle inspections to ensure road worthiness and safety. These inspections apply to all vehicles. Annual motorcycle inspections cost $12 (as of 2016).
How much is a motorcycle license in Virginia?
The motorcycle-only driver’s license costs $6.00 per year and is normally valid for 8 years. Remember that this type of driver’s license allows you to operate only a motorcycle. If you decide later that you want a regular driver’s license, you will have to pass only the driver road skills test.
How much is motorcycle insurance per month?
What determines the cost of motorcycle insurance?
|Coverage type||Annual cost||Monthly cost|
|Liability, UM coverage, and collision insurance ($250 deductible)||$487.76||$40.64|
|State minimum liability, UM coverage; collision insurance and comprehensive ($250 deductible each)||$571.76||$47.65|
Is there a motorcycle helmet law in Virginia?
In Virginia, motorcyclists and their passengers must wear an approved motorcycle helmet that meets or exceeds the standards and specifications of the Snell Memorial Foundation, the American National Standards Institute, Inc., or the federal Department of Transportation.
Are motorcycle LED lights legal in Virginia?
Notwithstanding § 46.2-1002, motorcycles or autocycles may be equipped with standard bulb running lights or light-emitting diode (LED) pods or strips as auxiliary lighting. … Any such tail lights or special white light shall be of a type approved by the Superintendent.
Do you have to wear a helmet in a slingshot in Virginia?
Every person operating a motorcycle or autocycle shall wear a face shield, safety glasses or goggles, or have his motorcycle or autocycle equipped with safety glass or a windshield at all times while operating the vehicle, and operators and any passengers thereon shall wear protective helmets.
Is it legal to ride a motorcycle with LED lights on?
Motorcycle LED Light Laws Across All 50 States. … As a general principle, LEDs are legal so long as they remain concealed and unlit on roads and do not flash or include the colors red or blue for obvious reasons.
Is lane splitting legal in VA?
Lane splitting—or motorcycles sharing lanes with cars—is illegal in Virginia, but motorcyclists are permitted to ride side by side in the same lane. Motorcyclists can move with caution through non-responsive red lights after two rotations of the traffic light or two minutes, whichever is shorter.
Is it illegal to drive a motorcycle without a shirt?
All men riding motorcycles must wear shirts.
So men wishing to show off their muscular physique (and utter disregard for upper-torso protection) may continue to do so while riding.
Is there a grace period for expired inspection sticker in Va?
In Virginia, there is no grace period when it comes to car inspection. … Don’t let your car inspection sticker expire without getting a car inspection. Call us today at (703)273-4778 to schedule an inspection for your car to get it done early.
Is Virginia getting rid of car inspections?
Ralph Northam (D) unveiled plans to eliminate the state’s motor vehicle safety inspection program. Northam said, “data shows that there is no connection between highway safety and these inspections. That’s why 35 other states don’t have them.”
Can you get a ticket for expired inspection in Virginia?
Even if your vehicle is displaying an expired inspection sticker, if the vehicle is parked and awaiting inspection at an official inspection station, the vehicle will be exempt from being ticketed for the traffic infraction.